Bedtime Prayers

Bedtime comes late in this house many nights lately.  Piper sleeps the whole night once she is down but sometimes she doesn’t sleep until 2 or 3 am.

Here I am tonight, it is going on 1 am and I think she is finally asleep.  I entertain myself on the computer while I wait for her to stop spitting out the pacifier and stay asleep.  I go back to her bed at least 10 times some nights just to stick the pacifier back in her mouth.   She is really good at getting her arms free and waking herself up too.

Now that I think she is asleep for good I immediately think of how I would love to go and pick her up and snuggle with her.  If her sleeping in my bed didn’t make me so tired I would let her every night.  I had a hard time getting her to sleep in her bed…I think she slept with me for at least 2 or 3 weeks.  Now I miss having her close.

I never imagined how much I would love her!  Maybe I have a hard time having her away from me because we were apart so long in the hospital, after she was born.  Nights like this, when I think of how much I love her I end up crying myself to sleep.  I think they are mostly tears of thankfulness.  I go snuggle up against Blake and let God hear my prayers.   I am just so thankful for Piper and that she is healthy!  God has blessed us so much!  It just overwhelms me!

I am going to go in there now and snuggle up to Blake.

“Thank you Lord for loving me despite my sins.  Thank you for blessing me with such a beautiful daughter.  When I look into her tiny face I see your grace and mercy.  I thank you so much that it was your will that she took those little breaths and cried!  But let this be a reminder to me that I will love you no matter what you have in store for me because your will is good!”

It is all for your sake, so that as grace extends to more and more people it may increase thanksgiving, to the glory of God.

2 Corinthians 4:15

Leave a Reply

