Curtain Issues

About a month or so ago I took down my curtains to wash them and get the wrinkles out.  Yes I am guilty of hanging them up right out of the package a few months back because I was just being really lazy.  I did have morning sickness at the time so I should be excused!  Anyway I finally got around to washing them and then because they were so wrinkled the didn’t get put back up…until this weekend.  I had to wash them again because they were so wrinkled at that point that I just started over.

Well to get to the point of my story when I first washed them a month ago our dryer was on its way out.  It was overheating and has since actually caught on fire and we had to replace it.  Well I am assuming that my curtains shrunk when it was overheating because they are now way too short for my windows!  They originally hit right at the floor with out dragging.  Now look how terrible they look!

windowWhat a waste of money!  They are sorta cheap curtains to begin with being 10 dollars a panel but I had to have 6 panels.  All of them are on the same wall and so they just scream “look how short we are” when you look that direction.  I don’t know what to do now.  My sister suggested mistreating them.  However being that they are white and the style of them I would not know what to do to make them look good.  My other option is buying new ones and reusing this fabric to make Piper some play clothes.  Like the Von Trapp children!  Any have any ideas?  Please share!

6 Responses

  1. Curtains??!! You just had a baby!!! Uncle Jeremiah says post some pictures!

  2. I don’t have a clue what to tell you?!?!?!
    I need to buy curtains – we have NONE!!!!!

  3. How are you feeling?????????????? Email me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Erin and Blake!!! Congratulations and welcome to the world little Piper!!! When are you going to post pictures on your blog??? Because some of us are lame and don’t have a Facebook!!! Luckily, I have a cool daughter with a Facebook and she told me the happy news and showed me Piper’s picture 🙂 Beautiful! Love, Robin

  5. Congratulations!! I heard Piper was born, but I don’t see anything here or on Twitter. I might have to break down and get a Facebook account just for you. Kathryn has been pestering me about it too. 🙂

    I send blessings for all of you and wishes for never ending love and happiness with your little girl.

    Now, rest and take it easy. The curtains can wait a few months!! I know you will have plenty of things to do with Piper without having to worry about curtains in the dining room.

    But when you are ready, I have a solution for you! It is now in fashion to buy curtains like I’m going to describe. Just look at some magazine pictures or some curtain catalogs and recreate it. Just buy some inexpensive fabric either the color of your walls or of an accent color in your room. Then add a good 18-24 inches wide band of that colored fabric at the bottom (or more, it’s up to you). This will also help in the future when tiny fingers hang on to the bottom of the curtains. You can also add a narrow strip of the same fabric along the vertical sides. Again, good for small fingers and even adult fingers on all that white when you draw the curtains. I have seen the vertical strips as narrow as about a 1/2 inch and as wide as about 8 inches. It all depends on the look you want and the scale for your windows.

    • It figures the day that I create an auto post for the next day we have the baby. She is doing great! Pictures and birth story to come.

Leave a Reply

