Fur Everywhere!

I hate this time of year!  Chloe starts shedding her winter coat and all the fur just drives me nuts!  She really doesn’t shed that much through most of the year.  I am thankfull for that!  About a week ago my allergies just started going crazy.  I was sleeping with a roll of toilet paper in the bed so that I wouldn’t have to get up and blow my nose.  I started noticing that fur was just flying off of Chloe when I would touch her.  Today I finally decided that I was done with the piles of fur all over the floor and flying around my nose.

For those of you wondering I did not shave her!  I was tempted to do so when we had Marley, he shed really bad.  It was the Lab in him!  I did however put Chloe in the shower and give her a good scrub.  Then I used the FurBuster on her.   After seeing the FURminator on t.v. I really wanted one for Marley.  They are very expensive, 50.00 at Petsmart to be exact!  I just couldn’t bring myself to pay that much.  I didn’t give up the search for something similar though.  I found the FurBuster at Walmart for only 20.00!  It is the same thing.  For those who don’t know, it is a de-shedding brush that has a razor built in it.  It removes all the loose fur and undercoat that the dog is depositing all over your house.  You can really see it work.  Chloe’s undercoat is a different color than her normal silvery coat.  It is darker and thicker.  You can see that it removes that part of her coat and leaves her looking all shinny.  It works just as well as what you see on the infomercials!

When we bought this over the summer Chloe was not shedding.  I tried it on her anyway but I didn’t get anything off of her.  It did work great on Marley though.  Today I think I removed enough loose fur on her to make another dog.  She seemed like she felt really good afterwards.  She ran all over the house like a crazy!  After she dried I was petting her and noticed still a bit of loose fur on her.  I couldn’t find the hard bristle brush I usually use to groom her but did find a good replacement.  You know the attachment on your vacuum that has hard bristles on it.  Well if you are like me you never use it.  Chloe actually let me use it on her with the hose attached to suck up the hair that was loose!  I was amazed because she is terrified of the vacuum!  I guess it felt good to her!

Now my house is a bit less fur covered!  I will probably have to wash and brush her again before the shedding season is over.  Hopefully this will help keep the house cleaner and my nose and eyes feeling better!  I am sure with the season that I am not the only one who has had enough of the shedding dogs.  Check out Walmart to save some money on a FurBuster!  You will be glad you did!

3 Responses

  1. I think your blog is very informative, but why? I mean why blog about your dogs? DOnt get me wrong; I love dogs butI dont get it. What inspired you? I have never really understood blogs or the purpose of it so yeah. I am in school right now, studying blogs, and what makes a good and bad blog, and I yours caught my eye. Also, Chloe and Marley sound adorable!! ;D

  2. just read this.. do not know how i missed it! I think I will go get this today!

  3. Hey Erin. This is very great article about dog and how to stop shedding. Thank you for sharing. I love it!

Leave a Reply

