Freezer Prep

6a00d83451c5ac69e200e55296ac148834-800wiThe past few days I have been trying really hard to get ahead on some cooking.  Now that we are settled into the house and I have a deep freezer it is time to fill it up!  I made some Poor Man’s Steak for dinner yesterday and made double so that I could put one meal in the freezer.  I also got a good deal on bananas the other day so I sliced them up and put them in the freezer.  Today I am making meat balls and meat loaf to put in the freezer.  I also have a whole chicken in the crock pot since last night.  I am using it for dinner and then putting the rest in the freezer.  I haven’t completely figured out what I am going to make with it for dinner.  Probably just something quick and easy.

It feels great to be getting some meals in the freezer.  I really hope to have lots of meals stocked up so that way dinner will be on hand after I have the baby.  We don’t have much in the way of family living close to help out with things like that.  I know that I will be too tired to cook much so I figure planning ahead will be the best way to continue to care for my family after things get turned upside down.  I wish I would have been able to plan ahead for my first trimester because poor Blake had to fend for himself since I was so sick.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve started making larger pots of food and freezing the leftovers in single serving containers. Sometimes I want meatloaf and hubby wants porkchops. This way, we can each have what we want without the hassle. I’d love to get into OAMC (once a month cooking) but with an 18 month old, I rarely have enough time to make one meal a day, let alone a whole months worth in a day.

  2. That is a wonderful idea!! How smart of you!!!

  3. Hi! Thanks for stopping by, it is so nice to meet someone from around my hometown. I grew up in Fairborn, not too far away from Medway. We now live closer to Indiana, we moved for my husband’s job, but I still get out that way a lot because have family in Fairborn.
    Congrats on the pregnancy, my daughter is 2, cherish this time, as it gets crazy as soon as they are here. We are trying for a second one, but it is not so easy for us, hopefully it will happen soon. I will drop back by, it is so nice to meet a new blogging friend!

    Do you twitter? I’m mimi010207 if you do!

  4. That is SUCH a smart idea!!! I need to think about doing something like this!! It’s hard on us since we get home so late!! I’m NOT about to stand in the kitchen and cook a BIG meal!!! I’m to tired when we get home from being gone all day!!!

    So maybe I can cook 3 or 4 meals on the weekends and then freeze a few?!?! That would be smart!!!

    Thanks for the tips!!!

Leave a Reply

