Recycled Bench

Blake had this old work bench that we were going to get rid of.  It was really old and really well made but one of the legs was broken off.  He was just going to burn it to get it out of our way but I really wanted to salvage it.  It was so pretty with its dove tail joints and hard wood. 

That was when I got the great idea to cut it in half and put new legs on it.  A little purple stain and now I have the cutest potting bench to go in my potting shed!

My first project is growing fresh herbs from seeds!  I will really enjoy having them to cook with!

I was really excited to be able to recycle the table.  Blake got this from his uncle who got it from a friend who’s father built it about 100 years ago.  The poor guy; I bet he never thought it would get stained purple when hewas building it.

4 Responses

  1. Happy 4th of July, Erin! Thank you for your comment. You made me smile.

    I love that you were able to fix that workbench. With dovetailing and a 100 years old, I’m sure it’s made much better than anything you could buy today.

  2. I LOVE the bench!! Happy 4th Erin!

  3. Hey Erin,
    Have you seen my very own blog?
    Tuffy

    http://tuffystale.wordpress.com

  4. we planted basil, cilantro, sage, and oregano from seeds and WOW! They grew so fast. I have already made salsa with some of our jalapenos and cilantro.

Leave a Reply

