What a Surprise

Friday morning we were out working on the fence Blake is building when I tried to convince him to take me to Louisville to go shopping.  I am still searching for matching chairs for our dinning room table and I wanted to go to the Pottery Barn were they have a table just like ours.  Blake insisted that he didn’t want to go there.  So I said the only other one was in Cincinnati.  So surprisingly he said then lets just go up there and stay the weekend with your parents.  I was a bit homesick last week so he really knew it would mean a lot to me! 

We quickly decided to let our trip be a surprise to everyone.  I couldn’t wait to see my mom’s face when we walked in.  Blake took me home to do laundry and pack while he finished working and then we left when he came home. 

We really needed a break from everything because we have been working ourselves to death.  We didn’t have much to do on the house because we are waiting for all of the doors to come in right now so it worked out well. 

When we got to my parents house my mom was so surprised she was confused.  She couldn’t figure out why I was there or how I got there.  We had a great visit with everyone and enjoyed a relaxing weekend!  Saturday my little sister and her daughter went to the outlet mall with us.  There was a Pottery Barn store there.  They had the chairs that I had seen online but we decided the were a little too casual for the table.  We ended up having a great time shopping anyway!  I got a few shirts at the Ann Taylor store for a great price and Blake got a few sports t-shirts. 

Sunday we went to church and my brother-in-law preached since the pastor was out of town.  He had a great sermon on the biblical view of abortion and homosexuality.  After church we went out to eat with my sisters and their families.  That evening we had dinner with my parents then went hiking at a local park.  It was all so much fun! 

We did a bit more chair shopping while we were there and we think we may have found one at Pier1.  We are at least hopeing it will work until we can afford something else.    

5 Responses

  1. I think sometimes surprise visits are the best. I’m so excited to go spend some time with my family. I’ve been familysick (not really homesick since it’s not home) a lot the past year and am glad to get the chance to go see them.

  2. If you ever want to over to louisville- tel me! I am always wanting to go to P. Barn!

  3. I’m glad yall had a GREAT weekend! Sounds like fun!

    What do yall have going on for the 4th of July???

  4. Whew, you have been doing so much…I can’t keep up with you. I got tired just reading about everything you did. You would have thought that I was shopping with you. Glad you had a great time.

  5. Oh what a wonderful surprise!! Sounds like you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

