The Great Escape

The weather has been so nice the past few days and it feels so great!  One thing Chloe has always liked when it gets warm outside is to hang out on the deck.  She could easily jump over the rails if she wanted but she is content to just hang out.  The other evening while we were cooking dinner we thought we would put all the dogs out on the deck.  We opened the window so we could keep an eye on them.  Chloe ran around most of the time, Zoe just usually lays down and Marley was wondering around checking everything out.  The deck is still very new to him so we were nervous about if he could jump over or get the gate open. 

They all seemed to be doing really well.  I was glad because it was always nice to be able to put Chloe out like that while we were in the kitchen.  Then Zoe started barking.  She barks at every little thing so we didn’t think much about it.  Blake decided to check on them all and from the kitchen I could tell by his calling for Marley that he had gotten off the deck.  I went out the front door to try to see if I could find him.  I called his name and he came running from the other side of the drive.  I was so glad he was close by and that he came when I called.  Our experience with him so far is that he would run off from us if he isn’t on a leash.  Chloe has learned the boundaries of the yard so we let her run free but Marley is clueless.

I took Marley back inside and was talking to Blake about it.  I asked if Marley had gotten the gate open.  He said that the gate was still closed.  I was surprised.  There was no way that he jumped over the rail because he just can’t jump that high.  We figured out that he must have just climbed over it.  This makes me nervous for our plans to build fence.  I have heard of many dogs that can climb fences.  I just hope that he will learn to be content in the yard enough to not climb.  We have a little escape artist on our hands.     

silly-boy.jpg

6 Responses

  1. Yikes—kinda scary.

  2. That’s not fun at all. Sorry. Sometimes I feel like your dog though… just need to escape 🙂

  3. Ooh nooo, a possible climber! Where is the Dog Whisperer?

    And whoo is Zoe? Did you get another dog that I don’t know about?

  4. Hi,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am pretty certain that my boys never thought about Nemo that way either until I confronted them! It is good to discuss the movies they view though and I try to make it a regular practice, “What does this teach us, guys?” Anyway, have a blessed Easter.
    Love, Sita

  5. who is ZOE?

  6. Zoe is my in-laws Black Lab.

Leave a Reply

