How it Went

So last night when I got off work I went straight over to The Studio to talk to the owner.  (For those of you who don’t know I was meeting with a local photographer hoping to get a job in the future.)  He was a really nice guy.  The studio is really big with lots of cool backdrops and props.  He really has a very well thought out place.  We talked for just over an hour.  I gave him my resume and talked about my experience.  He showed me all around the place and introduced me to everyone there.  There are about 4 or so girls that work there full and part time.  I took my lap top so that I could show him my portfolio but we never got around to looking at it.  I started to get frustrated at that but then he offered me a job.  Not a permanent one but still a job!  They are having a special weekend coming up for Easter pictures and he said I could work the whole weekend.  I will be getting a good feel for things and they will see how I do under pressure.  I know I can do great because I catch on fast!  Plus I am ready to burst at the seams where I have been suppressing all that sort of energy. 

So maybe it will be crazy that I work all weekend like that but it will be fun.  And who knows maybe it will lead to a good job close to home!  I would be 10 minuets away rather than 30!  Oh and better than that they are open 10:30-6:30.  No more getting up and running out the door looking like crap!  All in all he said that he liked the energy I put off and the conversation we had and he can tell I would fit right in there.  He said there are no openings now but we will see.  I think basically if I do good enough he will make room for me on his team.  He had said that none of the girls hardly pick up the camera that work there.  They each had a place they worked and didn’t do much more than that one thing.  He talked like they were trying to learn other things and that it was coming along slowly.  I have had experience doing every bit of what they do there (sales, dealing with the lab, working on the computer, photographing, printing proofs…).  He said he has yet to have anyone who could do everything.  I might just be that person I think! 

I am really excited and can’t wait to see how it all turns out!  

*It is actually really soon-March 8 and 9 is the weekend I will be working! 

7 Responses

  1. Awesome! I am glad it went well. Maybe I will get you take some pictures of our dog before he gets too big!
    Go take a looka at our wedding photos- this guy was amazing!
    http://kjimages.blogs.com/kevins_blog/2007/05/index.html
    scroll down to May 16th – thats us

  2. You never know. You coud wind up as being the Number 2 person there. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

  3. Thanks everyone! I am just bursting with excitement to get back into doing what I love!
    -Diana your pictures are gorgeous! You really had a great photographer! And I would love to take pictures of your little guy!
    -Kathryn I can only hope so…soon!

  4. I’m glad it went well! Can’t wait for Easter weekend get to get here so you can get to work 🙂

  5. I’m so so so so so so so so so excited for you!!!! =) That weekend you work…it won’t feel like work because it will be something you LOVE doing!!!! =)

    I’m sp PROUD of you for sucking it up and going to see him!!! That ROCKS!!!! =)

  6. Congratulations on getting that weekend job. It’s only one weekend, but it’s the first step and that’s very important, plus it can lead to so much more. Jeannie’s right if you LOVE something, it doesn’t feel like work and it actually gives you energy and you feel like you are on cloud 9.

  7. […] to Comments Yesterday I got to have a little bit of a me day!  Since this weekend is going to be a very busy weekend for me, I decided to take a little break.  I took the day off yesterday and try to get some things […]

Leave a Reply

