A Quick Dinner

Last night I came home and went right down stairs to check out the paint and take some pictures of it for everyone to see.  We really wasted so much time hanging out down there because we still had to make dinner and go pick up a couple more cans of paint.  I went upstairs to cook dinner and my plans were a little thrown off.  My mother-in-law set out some chicken for us to use in the stir-fry I was going to make.  It was all thawed out but still needed cut into strips.  I hate messing with raw chicken so I decided to improvise.  We are trying to eat healthy so throwing it in a pan with gravy on it was out of the question.  Sadly I have not done any real grocery shopping so I had to rummage the cupboards.  I wound up making up a dish that was delicious!  We will be eating this one again.  It was so quick and easy and it was really pretty.  I wish I would have taken a picture of it because it was just so colorful!

Anyway here is what it was:

Place thawed chicken breast in baking dish covered in non stick spray.
Open a can of Rotel and spoon over chicken.
Open a can of black beans and spoon on top of that.
Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes at 350 (or until chicken is cooked threw).
When finished top with a little shredded cheese (we used salsa jack).
Then drizzle some Hidden Valley Spicy Ranch (one of our new favorites) over the top.

We served this with some corn.  I think it would be just as good with the corn baked on the chicken.  Or what I would have really liked to do is make some sweet corn cakes…but we are trying to eat healthier stuff.  Maybe a nice salad instead! 

7 Responses

  1. John and I have use a recipe (which I can’t seem to find at the moment) called Chicken Ole. IT is so good. Sounds almost the same but we add corn and use our favorite salsa. thanks about the picture. I was bored last night. It is kinda big like , “look at me!”

  2. Okay….
    YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY for “MY” TUMMY!!!! =)
    That sounds GREAT! I love anything with chicken and rotel and cheeese…YUM!!!! I will have to make that!!! I might use a different type of beans…I’m not big on black beans?!?!?! I need to go to the grocery store too…UGH….we are out of everything! I should have made tune fish or something last night but I was toooooooooooooooooooo LAZY to cook!!!! We went to KFC…I wasn’t feeling to well so I didn’t really eat much!!!

    I got your comment….GIRL…I’m soooooooooooooooooooooooooo HAPPY about the Vegas trip!!!! We are going to wait and take it late summer…we want to save up some money!!!!!!! =) I think we have 6 months to take it!!!!! ROCK ON!!!!!!!!! You never know what could happen while we are there…lol…I’ve never really thought of it?!?!?! I don’t think I would want to get married there?!?!?! BUT who knows! =)

  3. Oh yeah….
    What is up with that “RANCH” is it really that good! I’ve seen it and I’m a SPICY NUT…I will have to try it…do they have lite of fat free??? I’m not real big on hidden valley!

  4. Jeannie-We can not be friends if you don’t like hidden valley! haha It is really good but they don’t offer it in light. My mom had some when we went to Ohio and we had to get some right away! Oh and the Rotel… this is the second time I have ever used it. I love that stuff. Yall now good food out there in Tex!

  5. that sounds awesome and healthy…thanks
    You have been tagged for the “What’s On Your Refrigerator?” meme. It is a Meme and a contest! I’ll be giving away two free books. Read all about it at http://heartofwisdom.com/heartathome

  6. 1) What is Rotel?
    2) Jeannie, totally get married in Vegas! People are worried it won’t be as great as a “regular” wedding, but my hubby and I did it 6 years ago and whenever I tell people, they want the whole story and want to see the pictures. “regular” weddings get boring after the first 2 weeks…actually, does anyone ever want to hear about them (outside your own family, of course.)

  7. Lisa-If you click on the word Rotel it will take you to thier site. It is basically just diced tomatoes with chilies in them. They just have an amazingly good flavor! I don’t think Rotel can be found everywhere (north eastern states???). If you can find it, try it! It is great!

Leave a Reply

