Compassion

I think that God is trying to teach me this word.  It started on my way to work Monday.  As I was driving down the road I was listening to Focus on the Family.  I listen to this every morning because it is on the total length that I am in the car.  I had already heard the particular broadcast that was on, so my mind was wondering a little.  As I was driving I passed a little church that always has something witty on their sign.  As I read it I heard the word I read.  It was so weird!  The man speaking on the radio said the exact word as I was reading it in my mind.  The word was compassion.  I just laughed and thought it was a funny coincidence. 

Later at work I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Rocks in my Dryer.  Shannon the author of that blog was going to Uganda this week with Compassion Ministries.  I spent some time reading about her trip and reading the blogs of the other team members also on the trip. 

It wasn’t until I was on my way home and I passed the sign again that I thought of it all again.  I had not realized how many times I had read the word that day and really still not thought too much about it. 

Tuesday I passed the sign again and read more on the blogs and have thought about it so much.  The word compassion is defined as –sympathetic consciousness of others’ distress together with a desire to alleviate it.  As I read the definition over and over I began to ask myself how compassionatee I really am.  I really feel like the Lord is laying on my heart how selfish I have been.  I really do not spend much of my time doing His work. 

I have been praying about this and thinking about it all week.  Yes there are many children that need our help in Uganda and other countries, and I think what Compassion Ministries is doing is great!  But I don’t think that God is trying to tell me to sponsor a child this week.  I think He would just be happy if I would give my time to my church and my community.  I think He would be happy if I become compassionateabout something, anything.  We are all so guilty of worrying about what we can do to make our own lives better.  We worry about things like getting a new car, house, new clothes, the latest electronic device, getting a better paying job…  The list goes on and on.  We are consumed by so many things and many of them are not material things per say.  For instance how much time do we spend just trying to make sure everything is so so.  I know I spend lots of time finding recipes to cook, ideas to get organized, ways to decorate…  None of these are bad things I just feel like God is telling me that I could be a better steward of my time.  And I could think of Him more than I think of myself. 

So I challenge everyone today to learn what compassion is and how you can apply it to your life more!   

5 Responses

  1. that’s really cool/strange/interesting that the sign matched up w/ the radio!
    I feel like I need to be compasionate to those around me- I feel like I do a good job w/ children and families I work with- but with people that just get on my nerves and such….that’s harder!

  2. I think I am a compassionate person, so much to a fault. But, I guess you can’t be compassinate enough.

    Great post.

  3. Thanks for the thoughtful post. We take so much for granted that we forget what it is to have true compassion-like Jesus modeled for us.
    Rita

  4. hello! I came to your blog because of the Weimaraner, But I wanted to let you know that my sister in law has a great site- http://www.thesecretlifeofkat.com
    she alsmost went on the uganda trip. I think you would really like her blog! I am enjoying yours. I just started blogging so I am trying to figure it out. 🙂

  5. and I love ROCKS IN MY DRYER

Leave a Reply

