Keeping Dog’s Ears Clean

Wfmwheader

Trying to keep up with Chloe can be very hard.  Especially when it comes to her ears.  With her big long ears she is prone to infection.  If you have a lab or any other dog with lop ears you will have the same problem as they do not always receive adequate ventilation to keep the ear canals dry. This dark, moist environment creates the perfect conditions for bacteria to multiply. I find Chloe shaking her head and scratching her ears all the time.  With regular ear maintenance we can prevent ear infections.

So a good tip that the vet gave me when she was just a pup was to keep cotton balls soaking all the time.  I just take a plastic container with a lid and fill it with ear cleaning solution.  You can buy this or to save some money make your own.  I always make my own and it works great. 

Use equal parts: 1 part vinegar, 1 part hydrogen peroxided, and 1 part water.  Then just fill the container with cotton balls and put the lid on it.  I keep this under the bathroom sink.  Then whenever Chloe needs her ears cleaned I have it ready.

 For those who are not sure how to clean their pets ears with out hurting them, just take the wet cotton ball and place it right at the base of the ear.  Then gently message the outsides of the ears where you placed the cotton ball.  This will help the solutions to get down in the ear and your dog with enjoy the ear rub.  When you remove the cotton ball just wipe any dirt debre out that was loosened.  Your dog will shake its head to get anything else out.

12 Responses

  1. WOW This is a great tip!!!! I have a smaller dog (with less floppy ears)…but I should probably clean her ears too…Unfortch, she gets “eye boogers” more than anything so I have to clean those. Keeping cotton balls soaked for that is a great idea too..I will definately steal it! Thanks

  2. Erin,

    This is the best thing that I have heard since sliced bread! My daughter has a big dog with floppy ears and her dog gets ear infections all the time and has to take her to the vet constantly. I had no idea that this is why they get infections. I am going to make up two batches of this stuff (one for Tinky, Sissy and Jonesy) and one for her.

    I clean my dogs ears with some wonderful stuff that smells like cloves, but they don’t like me puting it in their ears. But, with a cotton ball….wow…you have made my life easier.

    Now if you can give tips on clipping nails, you will save me a bundle. 🙂

  3. Thanks for this tip! We have this problem alot!

  4. […] just happened to mosey on over to Erin’s Blog today. Erin has a beautiful Weimeraner named Chloe. Every Wednesday Erin participates in a blog […]

  5. Thanks for the tip! I will definitely try this out for our Silky Terrier Toby and Poochon Leah! They always scratch at their ears, and after baths they always roll around on the floor trying to get the water out of their ears.. this should help a lot!

  6. Your article was referred by 4urpets so I came to take a look see. What a simple and great idea. I will be sure to use it with my four dogs.

  7. Thanks for the tip, this will come in handy for the dog shows too 🙂

  8. […] with ear cleaning solution. … My daughter has a big dog with floppy ears and her dog gets ear …https://erincraig.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/keeping-dogs-ears-clean/Cleaning Dog Ears: Dog Ear Care Products and Ear CleanersCleaning dog ears is easy with dog ear care […]

  9. Thanks so much for the info. My dogs ears are really sensitive but now she is much better about me cleaning her ears because she enjoys it. Thanks once again!!!!!!
    Brianna

  10. Hey,Erin me and my dog Bud really appreciate the wonderful tip on cleaning his ears!!!I must say over the years i have used alot of products from the vet and the pet shops and i have to say this is the best one yet…He doesn’t mind it at all unlike some of the other products out there!!!!I will recommend this to all my friends that have a dog!!!!Again thanks a bunch!!!

  11. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  12. I have one question—well two–what type of vinegar did you use,,I heard applecider vinegar is best and what percentage of hydrogen peroxide did you use??????

Leave a Reply

