Natural Cleaners

Wfmwheader

I love being able to use anything natural that I can to clean!  It always smells so much better and I don’t have to worry about the dog licking up something that can hurt her!  I have been researching what you can use certain things for and here is a list I have come up with:

bakingsodavinegar.jpg                          

Baking soda: provides grit for scrubbing and reacts with water, vinegar or lemon by fizzing, which speeds up cleaning times.  Use on the toilet-bowl, to wash fresh fruits and veggies, clean stainless steal, flush down clogged drains and clean your oven.
Borax: disinfects, bleaches and deodorizes; very handy in laundry mixes.  Makes a good all-purpose cleaner with a little water, clean tub and tile, and soak clothes for stain removal. 
Distilled white vinegar: disinfects and breaks up dirt; choose white vinegar over apple cider or red vinegars, as these might stain surfaces.  Clean wood and linoleum floors, takes spots off of stainless steal, and works great on glass or mirrors with water and newspapers. 
Hydrogen Peroxide: disinfects and bleaches.  Works great on taking fresh blood out of cloth and can be used as a bleach alternative.
Lemons
: cut grease; bottled lemon juice also works well, although you might need to use bit more to get the same results.  Works great with baking soda on tubs and tile, in smelly drains and in vacuum bags as freshener. 
Olive oil: picks up dirt and polishes wood; cheaper grades work well.   
Vegetable based (liquid castile) soap: non-petroleum all-purpose cleaners.  Use with water to clean marble counter tops. 
Washing soda: stain remover, general cleaner, helps unblock pipes; should be handled with gloves due to its caustic nature. Washing soda is usually found in the laundry aisle of grocery and drug stores. 

I have been filling little spray bottles of each one so that I have them handy under the sink.  So far the ones I have tried I really like!  Have you tried any of these natural things?  If so what are your favorites?

10 Responses

  1. We had to use baking soda to clean spilled monkey bread from our oven on Christmas Day. It worked well and no yucky smells like oven cleaners. It was nice to not have to smoke up the house before company came over!

  2. Thanks. I’ve been trying to make the switch to all natural cleaners. I’ll reference this often!

  3. I use lots of these natural products, too! I also love to use essential oils for cleaning. I use a spray bottle filled with water and about 10 drops of lavender oil instead of Lysol. I also use it to clean off my table top and counters. Sometimes I add essential oils to my bucket of really hot water that I use for mopping my floors. I add drops of essential oil to the laundry sometimes too. Lots of great uses! My favorite oils for cleaning so far have been lavender, lemon, grapefruit and tea tree.

  4. Brandi,
    Great ideas. I have not tried essential oils yet but have been meaning to get some to add to my cleaning bottles.

  5. I like to use vinager. I use it in my humidifiers to keep mold away. I also use it in the laundry to help brighten

  6. great stuff, thanks!

  7. I use some of those, and others are new to me. I also use salt as an abrasive to clean pots and pans. Works for me!

  8. Great tips! I am so happy to know that there are so many good, safe cleaning options.

  9. Good ideas. I’ve used baking soda with water in a squirt bottle to take the smell of baby spit up out of furniture. Amazing stuff!

  10. Living in an old house we have a lot of lime build up. I heard vinegar can be used for lime so I tried it and it worked somewhat but I still couldn’t get it all so I broke down and bought some expensive smelly LimeAway. It actually hasn’t worked any better.

Leave a Reply

