Blessings

Do you ever just feel stuck or like you are just in waiting.  That is how I feel right now.  I am so frustrated with some aspects of my life right now.  Mostly work.  My job is really boring.  I sit and answer phones all day.  It is not at all like Pam on The Office.  She at least has silly co-workers to entertain her all day.  I sit in a room, alone, while people shuffle past me as they go in and out the door.  I freeze all day.  I sit 10 feet from a door that gets opened every 10 minutes or so.  I have a small heater that is supposed to help keep me warm.  All it does is burn my ankles while the rest of me stays cold.  I talk to one person at work.  That is right one.  It doesn’t help that there are only 2 girls in the office.  I have 20 incoming lines that help keep me occupied but for the most part I sit in silence.  I have great hours and don’t have to do much.  Those are the only perks the job has.  But with every day I am increasing my hatred for the place.  I feel useless.

There are so many things I would love to be doing.  At the end of the day I never feel as though I have accomplished anything.  Acctually I only feel more behind.  I get home and look around at the laundry that is piling up and the bathroom that needs cleaned and just want to cry.  I feel like all my time is wasted.  There are so many other things I would really like to be doing!  I would love to do volunteer work or help with things the church is doing.  I would really love to get some photography work.  My all time dream job would be to work from home doing photo retouching.  i could sit and do Photoshop work all day.  I miss working with photography so bad!  All this is just a huge frustration!

I started writing this post sometime before Christmas.  I kept telling myself that I just need to give the situation to God.  I have been praying about it but I think god is trying to let show me that I haven’t been trusting him completely with this frustration.  Yesterday at church our pastor preached a great sermon.  I needed this one so bad!  I don’t remember what it was called but it was about receiving blessings from God.  Let me just share with y’all some of the points that he made.

First you must prepare yourself to be used and blessed.  Also ask yourself “why” you want to be blessed.  Find out the motives and feelings behind what you want.  God honors are wants but not if they do not uplift his name.  When he blesses us it glorifies Him.  His name is exalted and uplifted.  So we have to figure out how we can live a life that God will bless.  We must commit our works to the Lord.  “Commit your work to the LORD, and your plans will be established.” Proverbs 16:3  And cast our cares on Him.  By doing this we are trusting in Him.  We will mess up his plans by not trusting and obeying Him.  We should not be ashamed of Him.  If we believe that He is God then we should trust Him, commit each step to Him, and give Him credit when we are blessed.  Also it is important to know that prosperity comes in the closeness of us to the Lord.  “Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:4

I think this help me quickly figure out what to do as far as my job situation and my unhappiness.  I am going to be dedicating my bible study to this subject this week and I have decided that I will only talk about my unhappiness if I am in prayer.  I will post more as the week goes on about how things are going in my studies and what God is doing in my life. 

4 Responses

  1. Haven’t got to read your blog yet- but I will! That stinks about the coupons being skimpy. Our local paper is skimpy, but I buy the paper from the city 2 hrs. over and they have alot more.
    Have you looked at other papers in your area? Try your local convience store today or Barnes & Noble to see what the have. I’d open the papers 1st though- to check ’em out!

  2. ok, now I read your blog post! Isn’t it great how just the right sermon ‘comes along’? 🙂

  3. Let me know what you find out. I’m in the same boat. My job is interesting when I have things to do, I just don’t have those things. And there’s always way too much for me to accomplish, I feel like I’m never getting anywhere. Some advice my mom gave me was to write an accomplishments list at the end of the day so you can realize that you really did get a lot done rather than a to-do list that can just be depressing. Good luck!

  4. In reading your post, I realize that I have a job I absolutely love, I have great friends and family, my pups, my health, and I am truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

