Christmas Cards

WfmwsmallWfmwsmallWfmwsmall 

I love giving and getting Christmas cards but after Christmas is over I never know what to do with all the cards I received.  I feel so guilty throwing them away but I don’t see any reason to hold on to them.  Our new church has a great solution.  The children take them, tear off the front cover, and reuse it.  They glue them to a construction paper card and decorate them.  They send these to the local jail to be handed out to the inmates.  I think this is a great idea!  And I don’t have to feel guilty about throwing out a card someone took the time to send.  

Anyone can do this.  You could do this at home with your own children.  Some various places you could send them to would be a care center for seniors or handicapped, a children’s home, a hospital, a special needs school, a retirement community, or a juvenile detention center.  This is a great way to let someone who may be lonesome and without hope at Christmas know that Jesus loves them. 

2 Responses

  1. I throw ours in the “craft box” for the boys to cut, glue, and otherwise destroy (or use). Plus I get to enjoy the cards, or parts of them on the fridge again 🙂

  2. I put mine away with the decorations and then send them off to daycare. I have seen instructions for making them into boxes but I’m not that organized.

Leave a Reply

