Cookie Baking

Every year my the girls in our family get together for what we call Sugar Day.  It is a great cheap way to get lots of baking done for Christmas!  We organize our recipes and buy all the ingredients.  We buy in bulk and use almost all of what we buy.  We split the cost so that way it is lots cheaper than if you were buying everything yourself and only using some of it.  The best part though is the time we get to spend together.  My mother-in-law and I drove up to my aunt’s in Cincinnati last Saturday for the event.  There we met with my mom, sister, grandmother, 2 aunts, and some of the kids.  Not as many people made it this year compared to past years but we still had a blast!  Here are some photo’s from Sugar Day ’07.

baking.jpg  (left to right) My aunts; MariAnn, Kay, and my Mom.

daph.jpg  my cousin

mawmaw.jpg  my grandmother making gingerbread men

kay.jpg  Kay making cinnamon poinsettia cookies 

What does your family do for Christmas that is frugal? 

One Response

  1. What a great way to get everyone together for the holidays without the production of a huge party or expensive gifts!

Leave a Reply

