A Comment

I had started to leave this comment on Crystal’s blog, but decided it got a bit wordy so I just made it into a post. 

For those who don’t know what this about please read this article first. 

Crystal’s question about it was: What should our response as Christians be to this? How do we confront the culture when it comes to the heinous act of abortion – especially in the case of a mother choosing to kill her children so that her life is easier? Any thoughts?

 -This makes me so sad.  I read it earlier today and have been thinking about it since.  Anti-abortion is something that I am passionate about I have participated in Life Chain the past few years.  How do we confront it and what should our response be as Christians?  We should pray, vote for representatives who are pro-life, educate our children, and get active in the community about it.   

The thing that really struck me as I read this women’s story was that she is actually an abortion rights advocate who has worked with Planned Parenthood, as well as a co-founder of a feminist organization called the Third Wave Foundation, which has financed abortions.  I have always wondered how many women who are this active on the pro-choice side would actually make that decision so easily when presented before them.  I guess I have always felt that most people who push pro-choice do so for reasons like the financial hardship it would put a young mother in.  They push the idea on low income, young girls, who are babies themselves.  They make it the easy way out by telling them it would be okay.  Most these girls who go to Planned Parenthood and other clinics such as that are scared.  They don’t have any hope that all will be well.  The thing these girls need more than anything is real hope; hope in Christ! 

But this lady was faced with the decision and so cold heartily murdered 2 of her precious babies because they would just be a burden to her life.  My mother had 6 children.  I am sure there were days that we were burdens to her but she didn’t kill any of us.  Now what about the one baby she decided to keep… does she kill him when he is a few months old and not letting her sleep through the nights, when he is going through those terrible 2’s and she is chasing him all over the house, when he is playing sports and she has to take the time to taxi him from place to place, when he home from school sick and she has to cancel a meeting to be with him or when he is a teenager and never wants to pick up after himself… does she kill him?  These are some of her thoughts, “When I found out about the triplets, I felt like: It’s not the back of a pickup at 16, but now I’m going to have to move to Staten Island. I’ll never leave my house because I’ll have to care for these children. I’ll have to start shopping only at Costco and buying big jars of mayonnaise.”

Women like this need love!  She said herself that she “grew up not knowing my father, I have never missed not having him. I firmly believe that”.  The fact that she had to say she firmly believed that shows she is trying to convince herself that.  I am sure she missed having the love a father can give.  She can have that in Christ though! 

My last thoughts on this is just a plea to men and women alike.  I think this is a perfect example of the importance of why we need to learn our respective roles and practice them daily.  This way we can raise our sons to be responsible for their actions and our daughters to love their children unconditionally.  Things like abortion wouldn’t be an option.

Check out John Piper’s website for some good sermons and articles on abortion!          

Leave a Reply

