a humbling day

Today I had such a humbling day!  One thing I love about my job is it allows me to spend my whole day doing whatever I would like as long as the phones get answered; that means I get lots of time to do bible study!  Friday’s the phones are always a bit quiter so I really get time to spend close to God. 

My day went like this today: I sent an email to my mentor from TLT, in this I discussed some of my frustrations and how I need to do better handling them.  Then I spent time reading some blogs.  I really enjoy reading blogs by other Christians who always have something so profound to say.  My apologies that my blog is not so profound but rather mostly about my silly dog.  One blog that I came across just touched my heart so much!  My heart went out to this family as a read their blog about the beautiful daughter they had that was not expected to live very long had she even made it to her birth.  As I read the heart wrenching journey of this mother and her family I felt God humbling me.  (you would think I would avoid things at work that would make me cry seeing that I answer phones and sit at the front door)  I had just been fussing to my mentor about my (so called) burdens.  How horrible I felt about how badly I handle my frustrations and stress after reading how strong this mother was knowing every day of her baby’s life was probably the last.  I can’t imagine.  I feel so low and no good because I have gotten so upset lately over things like the small space we are currently living in and how slowly our house is coming along.  How could I be so ungrateful??? 

Then to top things off I went to do my study for the day and the days title was The Discontented Heart, go figure!  “I hear you loud and clear up there, God!”  I humbly did my study and thanked God for speaking so clearly to me today!  I have failed miserably in much of my spiritual warfare lately, however my study today and baby Copeland and her mother have provided me with great conviction and encouragement.

Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. Philippians 4:11-12  

                                        

John Piper in his book, “A Hunger for God,” says this, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”   

*This is a book I need to finish! 

One Response

  1. God’s timing is perfect, isn’t it! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

